IMG_4122
I have been waiting for you. I know you bring warmth and sunshine and for some reason, every year, it feels like a new year starts with you. Every year, you are my favorite.

But this year, you are bringing the hope that things are starting to look up. Things can be okay. I am still sorting through these piles of emotions that came along with Dad’s cancer diagnosis, but with you, August, I can see light. He is my light, and that is all I needed to know to be strong. Today is two months that I have been without him, and I am still not used to it. I miss him. I will never be used to that feeling.

This month, I will:
+ paint a huge canvas
+ have a photo shoot (or 3)
+ send moving announcements
+ turn 28 (holy crap)
+ finalize the current logo design/marketing plan I’m working on

So August, let’s stay together and slow down a bit, eh?

2 Responses to “oh, august.”

  1. elizabeth

    I love this post (and all of your recent ones!) I’ve been feeling so bogged down by the start of August; working at a university, when I turn the page to August all I can think is “the year is about to start”, and add in being bogged down by house stuff, I haven’t had the mental space for blogging. But reading your words is making me want to change that. And I think you’ve got some awesome goals for the month!!

    Reply
    • carrielsunday

      Thank you, I have been feeling slightly overwhelmed with blogging and the pressure I put on myself to keep it up. This will definitely give me a breather, and it will give me a quality excuse to lug my camera with me everywhere again. I hope the house stuff is coming along for you. I am glad that our stress in that area is done!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS