OygZN_k6W_O0XZOfO7ERTDq3s5RVlB8BjP_FDJg6YKY,hj5fU_nJ0ukpw1qxY7kcOed8OdkHguTEP4uOSKL5rHg[1]A few weekends ago, I had the priveledge of going with this great group of people called Silverback Kansas to help pass out lunches for the homeless here in town.  And, let me tell you, it was one of the most rewarding afternoons I have ever spent with strangers (well, strangers outside of Twitter).

Jude had contacted me on Twitter months ago, asking if I would be interested in getting involved with their volunteer activities, and at the time, I just couldn’t make it work. I was planning the wedding, figuring out where we would live, then dealing with Dad’s cancer. It just wasn’t a good time for me, or my obivously unstable emotions.

When he contacted me again, I decided that if now isn’t a good time, there never will be a good time.  I signed up for that next Sunday.

And two days later, off we went. He and Ami had already thought of everything. How I would be transported in my chair so I was a part of the group, not a tagalong. What I could be helping with, along with taking pictures. And Jude and I decided that if we went to the homeless camps near the river, he would be the one pulling me out of the mud.

The people that we handed food and water to were, in a word, interesting. All shapes, colors, types of families. Homelessness does not discriminate. And these people are appreciative. Many of them are proud.  It is so evident in their eyes that they need this and are thankful.

I look forward to doing this again, for them and for me.

 

Find out more about Silverback Kansas and what projects they curerently have going on at the website here.