IMG_8481We are dealing. It hasn’t been easy because when something big happens normally, Dad is the one we ask for advice. This time, we are doing it for him. I have been trying to the strong, but yesterday, the day we laid him to rest, was a rough one for me. I cried and didn’t care who saw. I left a part of my heart at that cemetery.

I don’t want to do this. I don’t want to have to miss my dad.

And I do not like the house without him. I will be glad when we move and every single thing won’t remind me of him. I’m so sad when I see the emptiness that he left here for us. Sometimes I feel like I could just overflow with this ache that I have when I want to talk to him about something. And all I can think is “No, not my dad.”

I have heard people talk about losing a parent, but until you experience it, you have no idea. I never did. It’s a whole different feeling that I never knew existed. An achey numbness that at some point will probably wear off and leave me feeling thankful for the relationship we had, thankful for the two months when we knew “it” was coming. But right now, it’s something I can’t shake.

I always thought I was the tough one, but now I’m not so sure. It’s nothing you are ever prepared for.

2 Responses to “feeling heavy-hearted.”

  1. Patricia

    No, you are never prepared when someone you love can no longer be heard or touched. Go ahead and cry you have good reason to. Crying is what you need to do now…it’s ok…has nothing to do with strength or lack of strength…has to do with grief and eventually healing.

    My thought and prayers go out to you and your family. May you know the Lord’s comfort and peace in the coming days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS